Updated 12/30/97

The US Lighthouse Service can trace it's beginnings to August 7, 1789 when President George Washington approved an act of Congerss which incorporated all esisting and future aids to navigation into a federal system. It was not until 1939 that the US Light Service was merged with the US Coast Guard. Lighthouses in the United States have come and gone over the past 300 years. A wide variety of styles and construction materials have been used. Today, the vast majority of operational lighthouses are no longer manned by "keepers" as they have been automated. Many of those shown below have long since passed into history.

Atlantic Coast


Assateague Light

Assateague Island, VA


Cape Charles Light

Smith Island,VA


Cape Henry Light

Virginia Beach, VA


Bodie Island Light

Bodie Island, N.C.


Cape Hatteras Light

Cape Hatteras, N.C.


Currituck Light

Corolla, N.C.




Ocracoke Island Light

Ocracoke, N.C.


Fire Island Light

Fire Island, N.Y.



Montauk Point Light

Montauk, N.Y.


Absecon Light

Atlantic City, N.J.

Cape Lookout Light






Sandy Hook Light

Sandy Hook, N.J.


New London Light

New London, CT


Thomas Point Light

Annapolis, MD


Middle Ground Lighthouse

Chesapeake Bay, VA


Cape May Lighthouse

Cape May, NJ



Thimble Shoal Lighthouse

Chesapeake Bay, VA


Tybee Island Lighthouse

Savannah, GA


Charleston Light

Charleston, SC


Drum Point Light

Solomons, MD


Cherrystone Bar Light

Cape Charles, Va



Plantation Light

Cape Charles, Va


Pacific Coast



Destruction Island Light